St. Peter’s Parish celebrates 10th anniversary

0 676

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

St. Peter’s Parish celebrates 10th anniversary

The St. Peter’s Parish at Shama Junction in the Catholic Diocese of Sekondi-Takoradi has climaxed her 10th anniversary with a Thanksgiving Mass. The Mass was presided over by Most Rev John Baptist Attakruh, Bishop of the Diocese.

In his welcome address, Rev. Fr. Isaac Mensah, Parish Priest expressed gratitude to God for the gift of the Parish and the Parishioners.

Fr. Mensah thanked the Parish community for their support and contributions throughout the years . He encourage them not to relent in their love for God and his work.

Delivering the homily, Most Rev.John Baptist Attakruh, encouraged the faithful to hold on their joy in the Lord. He said, ” we know what the Lord has done for us, that is why we are happy. For our joy indeed comes from the Lord”.

Bishop Attakruh also said “the beginning was not easy for those who started this Church but by preserving and sacrificing we are celebrating this anniversary. We need to give thanks to God and also pray for those who are dead.”

He further lauded the parishioners for the collaboration that exists between them and their parish priest. He said, “if the priest will succeed at a Parish, he will need the support and cooperation of the Parishioners. The Parishioners must accept the priest and work with him. I therefore, your parish priest for his good works, I thank you also for your generous contributions.

The theme for anniversary was “10 years of living together as a family under the patronage of St. Peter; the way forward. As part of the celebration, the sacrament of confirmation was conferred on 68 candidates.

St. Peter’s Parish was created from the Shama Parish on January 8, 2011 comprising the following communities; Adansi, Abbot, Nkwantakesedo, Kumase, Komfueku, Adaa, and Shama Junction.

The anniversary Thanksgiving Mass was concelebrated by Frs. Isaac  Mensah ( current  Parish Priest), Anthony Gyan ( First Parish Priest), John Ekow Arthur (Second Parish Priest), Fr. Benjamin Doughan (Bishop Secretary), Albert Amakyi, Stephen S. Ackah, Charles Oppong, Anthony Eshun, Michael Akpayi and other priests from the Sekondi Deanery.



Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More