0 1,476

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


The 2021 Diaconate ordination for the Catholic Diocese of Sekondi-Takoradi was held on Saturday, April 10, 2021, at the St. Theresa’s Parish, Essikado. Most Rev. Joseph Francis Kweku Essien, Bishop of Wiawso, presided over the celebration during which 8 young men were ordained as transitional deacons.

In his homily, Bishop Essien encouraged the newly ordained deacons to strive to espouse selflessness in their ministry. He said “the ministry of the catholic priesthood is one of selfless service and not for amassing wealth or for self-promotion”

He further called on the congregation to support the new deacons in their ministry with their prayers. The Bishop also appealed to societies and individuals to generously contribute towards the formation of seminarians.

Reverend Stephen Ansah-Mensah, one of the newly ordained deacons who spoke on their behalf expressed gratitude to Bishop Essien for ordaining them to the diaconate. He also thanked “the Apostolic Administrator, priests of the diocese, their families, friends, and benefactors for their diverse support.”

The new deacons are;

Rev. Bernard Attobrah-Ernim

Rev. Stephen Ansah-Mensah

Rev. Sylvester Anazoh Quarm

Rev. Emmanuel Amotoe-Kwofie

Rev. Vincent Ackon

Rev. Enoch Abaidoo

Rev. Enoch Enimil

Rev. Alex Kojo Amponsah

The Code of Canon law  states that aspirants to  the priesthood may  be promoted to the diaconate only when they have completed the fifth year of the curriculum of philosophical and theological studies ( Canon 1032).

They  are to serve as deacons for a period of usually between 6 months and 1 year,  and are then ordained by their  bishop as priests. This is in contrast to Permanent Deacons who are ordained to the Catholic Church and have no intentions of becoming a priest.

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More